FR | EN

The Grand Chalet, Rossinière
Built between 1752 and 1756 by and for David Henchoz, the Grand Chalet, a national Swiss heritage site with one hundred and thirteen windows and carved wooden façades, is one of the oldest chalets in Switzerland.

Originally designed to accommodate the large wooden cellars necessary for commercial cheese production, the chalet's oversized dimensions were needed to create these vast underground spaces. The chalet stayed in the hands of the same family until 1875, being transformed into a reputable hotel in 1852, which welcomed such guests as Victor Hugo and Alfred Dreyfus.

In 1977, the chalet was bought by Count Balthazar Klossowski de Rola, who lived there with his wife, Countess Setsuko Klossowski de Rola, and their daughter, Harumi, until his death in 2001. Today, this extraordinary and timeless place is both the family residence, as well as home to the Balthus Foundation.

Through the years, the painter and his wife invited their contemporaries to this architectural achievement, nestled in the valley of the Pays d'Enhaut; artists, writers, film makers and poets came to exchange ideas about their respective disciplines, to imagine new dialogues between the arts, and to ponder that inexhaustible source of inspiration, the world.


location map of Rossinière

FR | EN

Le Grand Chalet de Rossinière
Construit entre 1752 et 1756 par David Henchoz, le Grand Chalet, patrimoine national doté de cent-treize fenêtres et de façades gravées, figure parmi les plus anciens chalets de Suisse.

Initialement conçu pour accueillir d'imposantes caves de bois destinées à la commercialisation du fromage en gros, ses dimensions ont donc été déterminées par la nécessité de créer ces espaces souterrains, conditionnant par conséquent la structure de l'ensemble du bâtiment. Resté dans les mains de la même famille jusqu'en 1875 puis transformé en 1852 en hôtel pension de solide réputation, le Grand Chalet a accueilli dans ses murs de célèbres visiteurs tels que Victor Hugo ou encore Alfred Dreyfus.

Le Comte Balthazar Klossowski de Rola l'acquiert en 1977 et s'y installe avec sa femme, la Comtesse Setsuko Klossowska de Rola et leur fille Harumi. Il y demeurera jusqu'à la fin de sa vie. Aujourd'hui encore, ce lieu unique et intemporel est à la fois la résidence familiale et héberge la Fondation Balthus qui y développe ses activités.

Dans cette impressionnante architecture logée au creux d'une vallée du Pays d'Enhaut, le peintre et son épouse ont réuni au fil des ans leurs contemporains - peintres, écrivains, cinéastes et poètes - pour échanger sur leurs pratiques respectives, imaginer ensemble de nouveaux croisements entre les arts et interroger le monde.


situation géographique plan de Rossinière